Rath Yatra: 5-member body formed over deaths of five from electrocution in Bogura

The Report Desk

Published: July 8, 2024, 02:36 PM

Rath Yatra: 5-member body formed over deaths of five from electrocution in Bogura

Collected Photo of the family members of the victims.

A five member committee has been formed to investigate the deaths of five people from electrocution during Rath Yatra (a Hindu religious festival) in Seujgari Amtai intersection of Bogura district town on Sunday.

Bogura Deputy Commissioner Saiful Islam said the committee led by Additional Deputy Commissioner PM Imrul Kayes has been asked to submit a report within 10 working days.

The committee included representatives from police, power division, fire service and civil defence and civil surgeon, the DC said.

Saiful Islam said they provided each family of the deceased with Tk 25,000 for cremation of the deceased and took measures for necessary treatment of the injured.

Earlier on Sunday afternoon, five people died and 43 others sustained injuries during the Rath Yatra in the area.

The deceased were Naresh Mohanta, son of Bhabani Mohanta of Kundugram village in Adamdighi upazila of Bogura, Atshi, wife of Monteswar of Tinmatha Railgate area of the district town, Ranjita, wife of Sudev of Gohail village in Shahjahanpur upazila, Alok Kumar, son of late Narayan Kumar of Kulupara village in Shibganj upazila and Jolly Saha, wife of Basudev Saha of Sariakandi upazila.

Saihan Waliullah, Officer-in-Charge of Bogura Sadar Police station, said the Rath Yatra procession was brought out from Iskcon Temple around 5 pm and when they reached Seujgari Amtala intersection, a fire broke out on the top of the Rath as it came in contact with a high voltage electric wire.

Five people who sat on the top of the Rath got electrocuted while 43 others were also injured.

Later, they were taken to Bogura Shaheed Ziaur Rahman Medical College and Hospital and Bogura Mohammad Ali Hospital where the five people were declared dead.

Of them, 38 injured are receiving treatment at Ziaur Rahman Medical College and three at Mohammad Ali Hospital.

Link copied!