5 BNP leaders sentenced to 10 years jail


Published: November 20, 2023, 06:39 PM

5 BNP leaders sentenced to 10 years jail

A Rangpur court on Monday sentenced five BNP men including district and city unit member secretaries Anisur and Mahfuz to 10 years in jail in a subversion case filed around 10 years back.

Rangpur Additional District and Sessions Judge Court-1 Judge Krishna Kanta Roy also fined the convicts Tk 10, 000 each, in default they will have to serve six more months’ jail, said the court’s public prosecutor Abdus Sattar.

The convicts are district unit BNP Member Secretary Anisur Rahman Laku, city unit Member Secretary Advocate Mahfuz-Un-Nabi, city unit Jubo Dal Senior Joint Convenor Jahir Alam Nayon, district unit Jubo Dal President Tarek Hasan Sohag and party activist Arif Hossain.

Of them, Mahfuz was present on the dock during the delivery of the judgment while the rest are now absconding.

Moreover, district unit BNP and Jubo Dal’s General Secretaries Raich Ahmed and Shamsul Haque Jhantu were relieved of charges in the case as they have already died.

According to the case statement, police arrested the accused when they were about to prepare for torching a bus in the field of Rangpur Polytechnic Institute on May 19, 2013, a day before beginning a shutdown called by Jubo and Swechasebak Dal.

Police also recovered 56 crude bombs and other equipment from the arrestees at that time.

A case was filed accusing the BNP men with Kotwali police station in this connection.

After completing legal procedures, the court handed down the judgment in presence of one out of the five accused on Monday.


Link copied!