Heartbreak for India as Australia lift record sixth WC title

Sports Desk

Published: November 19, 2023, 10:18 PM

Heartbreak for India as Australia lift record sixth WC title

Collected Photo

Australia beat India to win the 2023 men’s World Cup final in Ahmedabad, sealing their sixth trophy in the tournament’s history.

Travis Head scored a magnificent century on a tricky surface on which Australia chased 241 with seven overs and six wickets to spare. Australia has found themselves in trouble early on in the chase, losing three wickets in the powerplay, falling for 47-3. Mohammed Shami took a wicket in the first over of his spell to remove David Warner, before Jasprit Bumrah removed Mitchell Marsh and Steve Smith. Had Smith reviewed the lbw decision, he would have been given not out with the ball hitting him outside the line of off stump.

From there however, Head and Marnus Labuschagne formed an imperious 192-run partnership. They steadied the scoring rate and accumulated runs, prioritising keeping wickets in hand with run rate not an issue. Head kept the run-rate ticking, reaching his 50 off 58 balls while Labuschagne blocked away at the other end. At the point Head reached his half-century, Labuschagne was on 18 off 47 balls.

But Head accelerated towards his hundred, hitting Jasprit Bumrah for three fours in one over before scampering a single off Kuldeep Yadav to bring up three figures off 95 balls. Had the throw from the fielder been more accurate as Head ran through, he could have found himself in trouble.

With Australia needing two runs to win in the 43rd over, Head looked to finish the game in style with a six over the leg side. However, he picked out Shubman Gill in the deep, finally dismissed for 137 off 120 balls. That left Glenn Maxwell to hit his first ball for two into the deep and seal the result.

Earlier in the match, India had made a fast start in the powerplay after they were put into bat. They reached 80-2 off the first ten overs, with Rohit Sharma smashing 47 runs off 31 balls. After India slipped to 81-3, KL Rahul and Virat Kohli put on a 67-run partnership off 109 balls. Rahul was finally out for an 107-ball 66 as India were bowled out for 240.

The final marks a stark turnaround for Australia from their loss to India in their opening game of the tournament. Having lost both of their first two matches, Australia are unbeaten from their next nine. It’s the second time Australia have won the men’s World Cup in India, having also won the 1987 competition.

Roll of Honour

1975: West Indies

1979: West Indies

1983: India

1987: Australia

1992: Pakistan

1996: Sri Lanka

1999: Australia

2003: Australia

2007: Australia

2011: India

2015: Australia

2019: England

2023: Australia

Link copied!