PM hands over Independence Award-2024

The Report Desk

Published: March 25, 2024, 01:34 PM

PM hands over Independence Award-2024

Collected Photo

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Monday gave away the Independence Award-2024 to 10 distinguished individuals in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the country.

The premier handed over the highest civilian award to the recipients or their family members at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the city.

Freedom Fighter Kazi Abdus Sattar Bir Pratik, Freedom fighter flight sergeant Md Fazlul Haque (posthumous) and Freedom fighter Shaheed Abu Nayem Md Nazib Uddin Khan (Khurram) (posthumous) received the prestigious award for their contributions to Bangladesh‍‍`s independence and the Liberation War.

Dr Mobarak Ahmad Khan was honoured with the award for his contribution to science and technology, while Dr Harishankar Das for his contribution to medicine.

Mohammad Rafikuzzaman and Firoza Khatun received the honour for their contribution to culture and sports respectively.

Aranya Chiran, freedom fighter Prof Dr Mollah Obaidul Baki and SM Abraham Lincoln were given the award in the social service category.

On behalf of the awardees, Rafikuzzaman expressed his feelings in the award giving ceremony.

Cabinet Secretary Md Mahbub Hossain moderated the function and read out the citations with a brief life sketch of the recipients.

Bangladesh has been honouring individuals and institutions with the award every year ahead of Independence Day on March 26 since 1977.

Link copied!